22 June 2016 | London

2016 Award Categories

Start-up of the Year

Highly commended: MyCognition
Winner: WheyHey

This category is open to any start-up business with an annual turnover of up to £2m and a staff of up to 10 employees. The awards recognises businesses that in the past 12 months have demonstrated fast growth, with a coherent and sustainable strategy in achieving it.

Mindful Chef
Ormsby Street
Pooch & Mutt

SME of the Year

Highly commended: Fairsail
Winner: Rant & Rave

This category is open to any business with an annual turnover between £2m and £10m and a staff of up to 250 employees. The award recognises businesses that have shown significant organic growth, and can show evidence that they have a sustainable and effective plan to continue and accelerate growth in the future. Businesses will have not completed a merger or acquisition in the last 24 months.

Bloom & Wild
Fairsail HR
Neva Consultants
Rant & Rave
Union Coffee

Mid-market Company of the Year

Winner: World First

This category is open to any business with an annual turnover between £10m and £100m and a staff of up to 500 employees. The award will recognise mid-market businesses that can demonstrate continued growth from a start-up to their current market position. Businesses will have not completed a merger or acquisition in the last 24 months.

Brompton Bikes
Graze (Nature Delivered Ltd)
The Bread Factory
World First

Fast-growth Champion of the Year

Winner: OakNorth Bank
This award recognises either an individual or organisation that has made a significant contribution to the growth of small and medium-sized businesses in the past 12 months. 
The judges will be looking for a firm commitment to aiding business growth as well as an outstanding contribution to the ecosystem. The winning entry will be able to provide evidence of how they have been an ally to fast-growth businesses in the past year.

Crunch Accounting
Oak North Bank

Private Equity House of the Year

Winner: Maven Capital Partners

Open to all private equity houses that have made acquisitions or exits in the mid-market during the year, this award seeks to identify the firm which has displayed the keenest judgement in the transactions and support it has provided. The judges will assess the choice of investee companies, funding structures used, and prices paid, as well as the contribution of the private equity house to increasing the value of the company.

HIG Capital
Maven Capital Partners
NVM Private Equity
Palatine Private Equity

Finance Provider of the Year

Winner: Clydesdale & Yorkshire Bank

The judges will seek to identify a finance specialist that has shown itself time and again to be the difference between the success or failure of a deal (including mergers, acquisitions, buy-outs, turnarounds, refinancing or fundraising). The winner will have shown incisiveness, an ability to work with a number of parties and an appreciation of how to balance risk-taking with prudence when necessary.

Clydesdale & Yorkshire Bank
Lloyds Banking Group

Asset-Based Lender of the Year

Winner: Shawbrook Capital

This award recognises an asset based lender that has demonstrated flexible and innovative finance solutions that has assisted an acquisition and/or supported and helped a business to grow following deal completion. The winning firm will be able to show it has provided facilities that have proved pivotal to the dealmaking process.

ABN Amro Commercial Finance
Bibby Financial Services
Leumi Asset Based Lending
Lloyds Banking Group
PNC Business Credit
Shawbrook Capital
Wells Fargo Capital Finance

Alternative Finance Provider of the Year

Winner: SyndicateRoom

This award recognises the achievements of an alternative finance provider that has proved to be pivotal to the dealmaking process. The winning organisation will be a leader in the flourishing alternative finance dealmaking arena, including invoice financing, peer-to-peer, EIS or SEIS vehicle, or any other non-asset based finance solution.

Boost Capital
Funding Circle
Hitachi Capital Invoice Finance
Nucleus Commercial Finance
Market Invoice
Syndicate Room

Accountancy Firm of the Year

Winner: Crowe Clark Whitehill

The judges of this award will look for evidence of a firm that has worked on a range of outstanding deals. The winner will excel at strategic input, quality of financial modelling and speed of execution.

Crowe Clark Whitehill
Kingston Smith
MHA Macintyre Hudson
Price Bailey
Saffery Champness
UHY Hacker Young

Broker of the Year

Winner: Zeus Capital

This award recognises a firm that has helped high-potential businesses facilitate either one high-profile deal or a number of deals. The judges will be looking for evidence of the money the broker has raised for it’s clients, and also analyse it’s contribution to the deal(s) and anything that demonstrates the firm’s high standing within the industry.

Allenby Capital
Cantor Fitzgerald
Cenkos Securities
N+1 Singer
Numis Securities
Zeus Capital

Corporate Finance Boutique of the Year

Winner: Cavendish Corporate Finance

The judges will recognise and salute the firm that has repeatedly delivered high-quality, pragmatic advice on quality deals. The winner will be gaining a reputation for its expertise and demonstrating an ability to punch above its weight.

About Corporate Finance
Clearwater International
Catalyst Corporate Finance
Cavendish Corporate Finance
EMC Corporate Finance
HW Corporate Finance
Knight Corporate Finance
Metis Partners
Spayne Lindsay & Co.

Law Firm of the Year

Winner: Squire Patton Boggs

The judges will look for a firm that provides efficient, high-quality advice on deals. The winner will have demonstrated excellent sector expertise and consistency, as well as consummate negotiating skills.

Charles Russell Speechlys
Hill Dickinson
Joelson Wilson
Kerman & Co
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe (Europe) LLP
Squire Patton Boggs
Taylor Wessing